I have moved to Washington State and after a year of back and forth hassle (a long and not-so-fun story), I got my mews approved and went out with a falconry buddy to trap a bird. We were both hoping for large female RT and we both got lucky. After a morning of frustration, near misses and one passage male with very small feet, we trapped two females within 20 minutes of each other. There is a very good chance they are from the same brood.

We brought them back, got them jessed up, wormed and ready to go. After a few weeks of working with Mira I realized she was eating like a pig but not maintaining weight and she was breathing hard after very little exertion. I took her to Dr. Bennett at Tumwater Veterinary Hospital where she was diagnosed with Aspergillosis. You can read more about Aspers here. She is a strong girl to have survived it. She apparently had it when trapped (which explained her low weight) but it looks like we got to it early enough.

After more than two months of treatment she is holding her weight and is able to continue flight training without overly exerting herself. Currently she flies 25+ feet on the creance. I’m sure she’d do further but she refuses to wait until I call her this week.mira1Here she is hanging out with me in my office.

She is currently flying at around 1200g and is still keen.